‘Sculpture’ Using Antique Ceramic Dolls Head (Complete With Teeth!!)

 

 

 

 

34 thoughts on “‘Sculpture’ Using Antique Ceramic Dolls Head (Complete With Teeth!!)

    • It is a tad spooky but I like that about it hehee. Yes we would look a bit scary without eyes! Did you see the film Coraline? There a girls ‘other’ parents have buttons for eyes and try and persuade her to let them stitch on some for her! Eek…weird πŸ™‚

    • Haha, I didn’t know you were such a scaredy-cat Russell πŸ˜‰ It’s good to be a little unsettled from time-to-time, keeps us on our toes!! Glad you find it the cool side of crazy! πŸ™‚

      • It is a really good picture. But it reminded me of my time when I was on observation duties with the UN in Grozny. I saw a lot of dolls in the rubble along with the smell of rotting corpses.

      • That’s awful 😦 I feel bad for joking with you now. That would be a horrendous memory to be recalled, I can’t even begin to imagine it….how do you deal with those memories?

      • Hi Tania. Don’t worry about it. You were hardly expected to know. In fact laughing about something helps a lot. You learn to detach yourself in the sense that you remember something but it is as if it happened to someone else. From time to time certain images, sounds and particularly smells can bring a memory back with a wee bit of a bang. Anyway I hung up my boots on that life 7 years ago and live a much quieter life now, I like your quirky images and I mean quirky in a good way. Perhaps they also say something about the photographer………..

      • Russell, you are so lovely to put my mind at rest and to be so open and honest….I know that I am one for laughing about some bad things when they are almost too bad to do anything else with but only to detach myself (because you couldn’t cope otherwise). But of course I say this having not gone through anything quite as harrowing as it sounds like you have. I’m glad that you don’t have to go through it now (though vivid memories are bad enough) and that you are pursuing your creative talent with your beautiful photography…..OH MY GOSH!! I just looked at your blog right now and I can’t stop chuckling away to myself…YOU CAN’T FLOAT!! Hahahaha! You have made my evening. Sorry but I can’t be serious after that!!!..:) πŸ™‚ I might be a bit quirky but at least I’m not a human brick!! I could float all day long if I wanted….sorry, now I’m just being mean πŸ˜‰ You should try it in the Dead Sea??…..

    • It’s just a sweet little doll….granted with no eyes, a whole set of teeth and wierd branches growing out of it but c’mon….it’s not like it comes alive at night running around on its ‘roots’ is it???……Or IS IT?? Bwahahahaha! πŸ˜‰

  1. This is beautiful in how it appeals to a sense of ancient, pre-historic relationship between humans and nature, one in which our human attributes did not separate us from nature, but identified us within it.

    • Ah thanks Richard! Yes it is mine…it sort of evolved as I made it…..I knew I wanted the doll to become ‘tree-like’, both beautiful and strange and I just went with it – it kind of ‘grew’ from my imagination. I’m really glad you like it!

    • Thanks Scott! Yes you will all be worrying about me soon – when I’m not painting my own face I’m painting doll’s faces – it’s an axe-murderer scenario if ever there was one! Haha. I am very attracted to colour and form…as all creatives are I guess πŸ™‚

  2. If I ever run into a baby who’s going to some kind of Mardi Gras festival, and they’re lookin’ for a mask, I’m gonna send ‘im over to Tania’s Treasures & Oddities.

    P.S. I wish there coulda been some of those cool red thingies in the eye sockets… : P

Leave a Reply

