Llama, Sunrise On The Inca Trail, Peru

40 thoughts on “Llama, Sunrise On The Inca Trail, Peru

      • I’m having a banner day! My blog just exceeded previous record fo single daily visits (188 views today). Don’t know whether that’s anything special or not, just that it is extremely active for my blog. Any thoughts about what a good number is? I’m still new at this 🙂

    • Yes, my initially grumpy, frozen cold and sleep deprived expression also would have illustrated the ‘morningness’ of the moment but in a lot less of an attractive way!! Though once my eyes adjusted to the glare of the light and I saw this, I couldn’t help but smile and feel ready to seize the days trekking! 🙂

      • THAT..is awesome. 🙂 And you hit it on the head..sometimes, even when in an exotic, foreign location, morning is still morning, and tired is tired…sleepy is still sleepy. I’m glad you shook off the slumber’s cobwebs for this bit of inspiration!

      • Isn’t that true?! I mean, don’t get me wrong – the experience is awesome and I wish I could travel more – but it’s no ‘holiday’ 24/7. ITS AN ADVENTURE and like any adventure there are tricky things to overcome – dangers even – and it’s not plain sailing all the time but the highs!! The highs, the sights, the people you meet and things you discover (about yourself and the world) – they make it the best thing EVER!! 🙂

      • Exactly! Some of the most intense moments I had hiking the Pacific Crest Trail last year involved danger or not bring in your regular “place.” Like when two cougars came into my camp at night when I was camping alone, and over 100 miles from the nearest person or town. They stayed until 5:30am, sometimes less than 2 feet away. Talk about intense. Travel means, to me, immersing and seeing from a different perspective. I was in the cougars “house,” and well immersed. Just a visitor on their terms, and they let me know about it.
        Great, now you have me wanting to travel to a Llama-filled land and sleep on the ground with my camera! 🙂

      • Oh WOW!! Amazing story Dug! It’s bad enough camping and hearing strange ‘animal’ noises in the middle of nowhere when you are with other people, let alone being by yourself and knowing for sure that actual Cougars are skulking nearby….!! It must have been very nerve-racking! Great to experience and live to tell the tale though!! I’m very glad they didn’t eat you 🙂
        I completely agree with you about what travel is really all about, you have to adjust yourself quite dramatically in some instances when you are in a place or situation out of your comfort zone. It can be challenging but it is also fascinating and it allows you to ‘live’ rather than just ‘exist’ 🙂 You would adore Nepal….

Leave a Reply

