‘Bloodied’ Immie, Wearing Teddy-Bear Stuffing Puffy Dress

24 thoughts on “‘Bloodied’ Immie, Wearing Teddy-Bear Stuffing Puffy Dress

    • Curiosity can be deadly! Haha. Okay, well where do I begin? I sometimes feel a bit ‘exposed’ talking about my art but I did give it that tantalisingly provocative title so I’ll give you a taste……this was when I was exploring adolescence and I had made my teddy-bear dress featured in previous posts by taking out their stuffing and stitching them together like pieces of fabric. So with the stuffing I made an angelic white netting puff-ball halter dress. I was experimenting with the idea of innocence and loss of it so I bought some Halloween fake blood and ‘bloodied’ her (connotations of period, loss, change etc). Whilst I wanted it to be disturbing I didn’t find the images entirely successful – they looked almost too crude and obvious in colour so I made them black and white and really enjoyed the subtlety it created – ambiguity even. I thought the blood had to be mentioned though or else it would be missed completely. I don’t know…I’m waffling now! What do you think? πŸ™‚

  1. The style of this reminds me of “dark” films like The Honeymoon Killers, and of the visual work used by Sonic Youth in the early days – a potent cocktail and a fascinating image.

  2. An excellent blend of darkness and creative artistry…

    Have a wondrously enjoyable evening Tania πŸ™‚

    Androgoth Xx

    • I tend to agree but there is always the desire to know what the artist is thinking about when they create something, plus this piece has quite a provocative title so I do not blame my fellow bloggers for their curiosity! Thanks Mike, for your valued comments πŸ™‚ Tan

      • Actually, I’ve always thought that paintings, sculptures, photography, whatever should be shown without titles, artist’s names, or anything else that isn’t directly a part of the art itself. I know that’s too radical a notion, and maybe if I had made a ‘name’ for myself, I would feel differently.

        Mike

      • Ummm…I think I am inclined to agree with you. Sometimes I feel weird deciding what to ‘call’ a piece of my work which is why I generally just describe what you see otherwise, as you are saying, it influences how the viewer ‘reads’ something and they can never have that initial response they would have had otherwise πŸ™‚

    • Ummm…..delicious! Well you know I’m all for that classic saying ‘if in doubt, stuff it with teddy-bear insides’ so it gets my vote πŸ˜‰ Plus less calories….

Leave a Reply

