Still Life With Dog Skull, Acrylic on Canvas

14 thoughts on “Still Life With Dog Skull, Acrylic on Canvas

  1. I’m glad you think so Stevie, I wondered if I should add more detail to it and it’s hard to be completely satisfied but I do like it and you learn each time. Positive feedback is always nice! Thanks πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve seen many still lifes with bowls of fruit and flowers. A dog’s skull– never. I’d say that makes this an adventurous composition! : )

    My favorite part was how you gave a suggestion of flicker to the candle flame– a very accomplished touch.

    My only reservation: the candle which disappears off the canvass– bit of a jarring note there.

    Lovely blog you have here, very glad to have discovered it. Cheers!

    • Hi Mark, thanks for visiting my blog! I like skulls, they add a little ‘something’ to an image that could others be a bit ‘meh’. As for the jarring note – I’m afraid my headless candle makes a sinister appearance in several of my paintings! Haha. I thought it might look dodgy but I just love that damn tall candlestick a little too much. The love affair’s over now though – it’s going out the window πŸ˜‰ Your blog is rather a gem isn’t it! I’ll be back there very soon, Tan πŸ™‚

      • A headless candle– yes, it could become something of a signature note– this could work!! : )

        I really liked the painting, and I didn’t mean to sound critical– just an observation, FWIW. Don’t be throwing stuff out the window on my account– we don’t want anyone injured by falling candlesticks! : )

        Do proceed with confidence with all your wonderful images.

      • Hehee, do not fear, neither my confidence nor cars / heads of passer-bys have been dented as a result of your constructive comments πŸ˜‰ I was only playing. Please know that I appreciate your comments and your sense of humour!!! I hope you are having a fun Friday πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

