Immie on a Broken Swing

10 thoughts on “Immie on a Broken Swing

  1. Tania,
    This is a fantastic image, the broken swing, the pose; like a broken and discarded doll, suggest loss of innocence.
    I would love to know more about the stories behind your pictures. Keep up the good work, and keep posting.

    • Thanks Mick – this makes me happier than you probably realise! I was actually exploring the theme of adolescence within my work when I took this shot and the ideas of loss of innocence / emerging sexuality. It’s great to hear that this has translated and your description of her ‘ like a broken and discarded doll’ is quite wonderful. Thank you for such interesting feedback.

      If I have a story for an image which I think may add to it, I will try to include it. I haven’t so far because it makes me a bit nervous for some reason…..??

      Thanks again, Tan 🙂

      • I felt the same thing, it’s a beautiful image! The youth, but not youth, the flexibility/gangly almost awkward yet fluid style … I love it! Well done! Really enjoy your eye…

      • Yay! Thanks Dug 🙂 I wish my art teachers had understood my work the way you guys do! Art school is not always the best creative confidence boost. Still, it didn’t stop me haha. Really appreciate this fab feedback!

      • Tania,
        No problem, so glad you liked my observation, and that it chimed with your intentions. There is a detachment about your work, which forces the viewer to concentrate on the aesthetic of the image. This makes me curious for more information, how did you arrive at the composition, are they shot on a digital camera, etc etc?
        I feel much the same way as you with regard to your nervousness. I always assume the work speaks for itself, I’m not sure it does though. I am looking to promote my art, but I don’t know how much of “me” the general public can take! (or more to the point, be remotely interested!)
        I guess you just take one step at a time and see how it goes, dip a toe in the water like.
        Best wishes,
        Mick

Leave a Reply

